Skip to main content

Delta Dental of Iowa Announces Three New Board Members

Posted on August 30, 2021 in Corporate

Delta Dental of Iowa and the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation have announced three new board members. These boards oversee the not-for-profit health and wellness company which serves more than 1.5 million Iowans and its Foundation that has invested more than $49 million to improve the health and smiles of Iowans.

“We are fortunate to have the range of expertise offered by the individuals that serve on our boards. This diversity lends itself to challenge us and ensures our focus on our core mission, improving the health and smiles of all Iowans,” said Jeff Russell, president and CEO of Delta Dental of Iowa. “Drs. Fuller, Grant and Metts are highly respected in their fields and we know they will bring value to our entire organization.” 

New to the Delta Dental of Iowa board of directors is:

Dr. Maria FullerDr. Maria Fuller  - Fuller Family Dental, PLC in Corning, Iowa. Dr. Fuller earned her Doctor of Dental Surgery from the University of Iowa School of Dentistry. Prior to attending dental school, she graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in accounting and was previously a practicing CPA. She has served in a variety of roles and on committees with both the Iowa Dental Association and the American Dental Association and is the dental director for the Taylor County I-Smile Program. Dr. Fuller is involved in her community through the Adams County Board of Health, Southwest Valley Sports Boosters, and as a member of the Chamber of Commerce.

New to the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation board is:

Dr. Donna GrantDr. Donna Grant – Norwalk Family Dentistry, Norwalk, Iowa. Dr. Grant received both her undergraduate degree and Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from The University of Nebraska. As a Rhodes Scholar, she graduated with honors and was top three of her class in 1992. Dr. Grant has been inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon, a national dental honor society. In addition, she is a member of the American Dental Association, Iowa Dental Association, and Des Moines District Society. Dr. Grant currently serves on the Delta Dental of Iowa board.

Joining the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation as an advisory board director is:

Dr. J. Michael MettsDr. J. Michael Metts – MercyOne Pleasant Hill Pediatrics in Pleasant Hill, Iowa. Dr. Metts is a graduate of Des Moines University and the University of Missouri Child Health Residency Program and has been a pediatric physician at MercyOne Des Moines since 1999. Dr. Metts established a pediatric hospitalist program at MercyOne in 2001 and served in that role until 2015. He served as associate professor and chairman of the Department of Pediatric Medicine and Specialty Medicine from 2002-2015 at Des Moines University. He currently practices as a primary care pediatrician in Pleasant Hill Iowa, is a site leader and serves on the Pediatric Governance committee for the hospital. He is active in the medical community as a member of Cavity Free Iowa, a collaboration with the Iowa Department of Public Health, focused on improving the oral health of children 0-36 months of age in Iowa and as an oral health state champion for the One Hundred Million Mouths Project in collaboration with Harvard and UMASS, working to improve the oral health curriculum at health profession universities and primary care residency programs in the state of Iowa.