Skip to main content

Delta Dental of Iowa announces five new board members

Posted on August 19, 2020 in Corporate

Delta Dental of Iowa and the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation have announced five new board members. These boards oversee the nonprofit health and wellness company which serves more than 1.2 million Iowans and its Foundation that has invested more than $42 million to improve the health and smiles of Iowans.

“Our boards represent a wide range of leading health care, financial and business leaders in the state of Iowa. They all share the core values of improving the health and wellness of all Iowans as well as increasing access to health care for all populations,” said Jeff Russell, President and CEO of Delta Dental of Iowa. “Their collective experience enables us to focus on our values and building a stronger force for good as we celebrate our 50th year in business.”

New to the Delta Dental of Iowa board of directors is:

Dr. Scott Yegge

Dr. Scott Yegge – Partner, Advanced Family Dentistry, Co-Founder & Board Chairman for WebCareHealth, Ankeny, IA. Dr. Yegge serves patients at Advanced Family Dentistry, a rapidly growing practice that serves more than 7,500 active patients. He also co-founded WebCareHealth in 2014, a chronic disease remote monitoring software for conditions ranging from anticoagulation to congestive heart failure and chronic pain. Dr. Yegge holds degrees from Waldorf College, Drake University, University of Iowa College of Medicine and the College of Dentistry. He is passionate about seeking solutions that provide better patient outcomes, reduced costs of care and efficiencies to improve operations and quality of care.

New to the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation board are:

Dr. Nafissa Cisse EgbuonyeDr. Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye – Public Health Director, Black Hawk County Health Department, Waterloo, IA. Dr. Cisse Egbuonye earned her doctoral degree in public health education at Texas A & M University. She earned both her bachelor’s degree in public administration and master’s degree in public health at San Diego State University. Dr. Cisse Egbuonye is a certified infectious disease and surveillance control specialist, who has experience in infectious disease surveillance domestically and globally.

Suzanna de BacaSuzanna de Baca – President and Group Publisher, Business Publications Corporation, Des Moines, IA. Suzanna de Baca has over 25 years of executive leadership experience in finance, health care and media industries. Before joining BPC, she was president and CEO of Planned Parenthood of the Heartland. Previous to that role, de Baca held senior leadership positions in the financial services industry. She is active in national, regional and local professional and civic organizations and boards. de Baca holds a bachelor’s degree with distinction from Iowa State University and an MBA from the Harvard Business School.

Missy GoweyMelinda “Missy” Gowey, CFRE – Executive Director, Genesis Health Services Foundation, Davenport, Iowa.  In 2013, Gowey facilitated the creation of and became the executive director for Genesis Philanthropy, a new foundation within the health system dedicated to prevention and wellness. Gowey’s nonprofit career spans more than three decades and includes positions with public television, higher education, and youth business education. Gowey received her bachelor’s degree in journalism and mass communication from Iowa State University.

Joining the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation as an advisory board director is: 

Dr. Donna Grant

Dr. Donna Grant – Norwalk Family Dentistry, Norwalk, Iowa. Dr. Grant received both her undergraduate degree and Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from The University of Nebraska. As a Rhodes Scholar, she graduated with honors and was top three of her class in 1992. Dr. Grant has been inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon, a national dental honor society. In addition, she is a member of the American Dental Association, Iowa Dental Association, and Des Moines District Society. Dr. Grant currently serves on the Delta Dental of Iowa board.