Skip to main content

Delta Dental of Iowa announces new board leadership

Posted on July 26, 2023 in Corporate

Delta Dental of Iowa and the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation have announced the appointment of several new board leadership roles. For Delta Dental of Iowa, Rowena “Ro” Crosbie has been named Board Chair, Dr. Donna Grant is now Vice Chair, and Jeff Chungath and Libby Jacobs were elected as new board members. For Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation, J. Scott Raecker has been named Board Chair, Dr. Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye is now Vice Chair, and Dr. Heidi Bell was welcomed as a new board member.

These boards oversee the not-for-profit health and wellness company, which serves more than 1.6 million members, and its Foundation that has invested more than $62 million to improve the health and smiles of Iowans.

“On behalf of Delta Dental and our Foundation, we welcome and congratulate our new board leaders. We know their leadership will continue to bring value to our entire organization,” said April Schmaltz, Interim Co-CEO of Delta Dental of Iowa. “Both Ro and Scott have shown their commitment during their service on our boards, and we know they will continue to provide valuable input in their new board chair roles. We look forward to working together on initiatives that support our core mission to improve the health and smiles of all Iowans.”

Delta Dental of Iowa Board updates:

Ro Crosbie

Board Chair: Ro Crosbie

Founder and President, Tero International, Des Moines.

Ms. Crosbie has served on the Delta Dental Board since 2013 and the Foundation Board from 2015 to 2021. Since 1993, Tero International has earned a distinguished reputation as a premier research and corporate training company. Ms. Crosbie is also the co-author of Your Invisible Toolbox and graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Certificate in Management. She also serves on the boards for Prairie Meadows, Grand View University, Hubbell Realty Company and the Greater Des Moines Partnership.

Dr. Donna Grant

Board Vice Chair: Dr. Donna Grant

Dentist and Owner, Norwalk Family Dentistry, Norwalk.

Dr. Grant has served on the Delta Dental Board since 2017 and the Foundation Board since 2020. She earned a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center and was inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU), an honorary society in dentistry. Dr. Grant is a member of the American Dental Association, Iowa Dental Association and Des Moines District Society, while also serving on the Norwalk Planning and Zoning Commission. She provides dentistry services to her community through her family dentistry office in Norwalk and various volunteer outlets including Donated Dental Services and Mission of Mercy.

Jeff Chungath

Board Member: Jeff Chungath

CEO, Telligen, West Des Moines.

We welcome Mr. Chungath as a new member of the Delta Dental Board. He is the CEO for West Des Moines-based Telligen, Inc. a company delivering health management solutions to commercial clients and local, state, and federal government clients that improve health outcomes. Mr. Chungath has experience in health services, population health management and telecommunications industries. He holds a M.S. in management from Creighton University and a M.S. in biomedical engineering from The University of Iowa.

Libby Jacobs

Board Member: Elizabeth “Libby” Jacobs

President, The Jacobs Group, Des Moines.

We welcome Ms. Jacobs as a new member of the Delta Dental Board. Her consulting firm specializes in the energy and regulated utilities industries, and focuses on state and regulatory policy, business development, and strategic communications. Ms. Jacobs formerly served on the Iowa Utilities Board, including four years as chair. Previously she had a 20-year career with the Principal Financial Group including 14 years serving as Community Relations Director. Ms. Jacobs also served seven terms in the Iowa House of Representatives and served seven years as Majority Whip. Ms. Jacobs earned her B.A. “With Distinction” in political science from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and her Master of Public Administration from Drake University.

Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation Board updates:

J. Scott Raecker

Board Chair: J. Scott Raecker

Executive Director, The Robert D. and Billie Ray Center, Co-Executive Director, Center for Public Democracy, Drake University, Des Moines.

Mr. Raecker has served on the Foundation Board since 2018. He served as a member of the Iowa House of Representatives from 1999 to 2012 and is a board member for the Shining City Foundation, Rotary Club of Des Moines AM, the Drake University School of Education International Advisory Board, Smithsonian Institution Center for Folk Life and Cultural Studies (emeritus), and the Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation Advisory Board. Mr. Raecker graduated from Grinnell College where he received a B.A. in Political Science and Religious Studies.

Dr. Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye

Board Vice Chair: Dr. Nafissa Cisse Egbuonye

Associate Vice President of Growth and Community Engagement, Molina Healthcare of Iowa, Des Moines.

Dr. Egbuonye has served on the Foundation Board since 2020. She holds a doctoral degree in public health education from Texas A&M University and a Master’s degree in public health from San Diego State University. With more than 10 years of public health field practice experience, Dr. Egbuonye has worked with a variety of organizations to conduct disease prevention research, implement public health services and health promotion programs, and advocate for vulnerable populations.

Dr. Heidi Bell

Board Member: Dr. Heidi Bell

Optometrist and Co-Owner, Elite Eye Care and Vision Therapy, Waukee. 

We welcome Dr. Bell as a new member of the Foundation Board. She graduated from Iowa State University and completed her Doctor of Optometry from Southern College of Optometry in Memphis, TN. Dr. Bell achieved a Fellowship in the American Academy of Optometry (FAAO) after fulfilling the rigorous qualifications set by the American Academy of Optometry. She also pursued the designation of Board Certified Fellow of the College of Optometrists in Vision Development (COVD). This designation signifies Dr. Bell’s expertise in the areas of visual development, behavioral optometry, and neuro-optometric rehabilitation. She advocates for pediatric eye care by participating as an InfantSEE provider, offering comprehensive eye exams at no cost for patients before their first birthday.

View a complete list of Delta Dental and Foundation Board members.