Skip to main content
Child drinking from water bottle

Rethink Your Drink

Schools that are selected for the Rethink Your Drink program will have an old drinking fountain replaced with a new Elkay water fountain/bottle filling station. Access to an online Rethink Your Drink educational kit is also provided to assist in educating your school on the importance of drinking water.

Please note, schools that have already received one Rethink Your Drink grant may now apply for an additional station. Priority will be given to:

  • Schools that have the highest rates of free and reduced price lunch and
  • Schools that have one or fewer water bottle filling station installed in their building.

In addition, the Foundation is looking to provide outdoor water filling stations in Iowa communities along trails and in public parks. Priority will be given to community projects with:

  • construction timelines that are best aligned with requirements needed for installation
  • the greatest need and that demonstrate a critical access point for a variety of individuals (children, adults, older adults, underserved individuals)

Rethink Your Drink is supported by the Healthiest State Initiative, Iowa Department of Public Health Bureau of Nutrition and Health Promotion, Iowa Public Health Association, Iowa Department of Education, and Central Sales, Inc. 

2023 applications for schools were accepted through March 1. Outdoor water filling stations requests are accepted on an ongoing basis throughout the year until all funds are allocated.

Apply now.

2022 School Recipients

School Name School City

St. John Preschool and Childcare Center

Cedar Falls

St. Patrick Catholic School

Cedar Falls

North Cedar Lowden Elementary, North Cedar Community School District


Southwest Valley High School


Blue Grass Elementary 


Joshua Christian Academy

Des Moines

Hempstead High School


Grinnell Community Early Learning Center located in the Grinnell-Newburg School District


Harris-Lake Park Elementary 

Lake Park

Iowa Valley Elementary


Newman Catholic Schools 

Mason City

Nashua-Plainfield School District


Prairie City Elementary - Prairie City Monroe School District

Prairie City 

Nativity Center  Mater Dei School

Sioux City

Immaculate Conception School Mater Dei School

Sioux City

Waterloo Christian School


Webster City High School 

Webster City

Timothy Christian School - located in the AGWSR Public School District


Woodward Academy School


Click here to download a list of all Rethink Your Drink recipients.

2022 Outdoor Water Filling Stations Recipients

Park Name Park City

Central Park Nature Center 

Center Junction

East High School Baseball/Softball sports park

Des Moines

Roosevelt High School Baseball/Softball sports park

Des Moines

Water Works Park

Des Moines Water Works Park Foundation

Fredericksburg Park 


City Hall/Community Park Access


Tucker Park


Monona City Park


Uhlenhopp Arboretum 


Greenbelt Trail


Wellness Park Pavilion 


Click here to download a list of all Outdoor Water Filling Station recipients.